The responsibility rests with patients to contact CANSA for assistance. Read more...

Wigs & Head Wear

Hair loss can occur when chemotherapy drugs travel throughout the body to kill cancer cells and some of these drugs damage hair follicles, causing the hair to fall out.

Losing one’s hair is a common side effect of chemotherapy treatment. Many patients will not go through this, yet many will lose their hair, eyebrows and even eyelashes.

This can be a traumatic experience, especially for women.

Synthetic and Natural Human Hair Wigs

Most CANSA Care Centres have wig-banks that stock synthetic and human hair wigs for cancer patients.

The availability, styles and colours may vary at each CANSA Care Centre.

  • hiring of synthetic wig: R350 per month
  • donation towards natural hair wig: R350* – this does not include courier fees to clients

*when human hair donations are received, CANSA sends the hair to our dedicated wigmakers who make wigs and return them to CANSA. Your donation enables CANSA to make this possible.

*patient’s income is taken into consideration

Province | Region Contact Person Email Address
Eastern Cape
East London Dorothy du Plooy dduplooy@cansa.org.za
Gqeberha (PE) Nadine Wagner nwagner@cansa.org.za
Free State
Bloemfontein (services Free State Dorothy du Plooy dduplooy@cansa.org.za
Gauteng
Bedfordview Athena Neate aneate@cansa.org.za
Pretoria Cisca Loggenberg cloggenberg@cansa.org.za
Roodepoort (services Vaal Triangle) Isabel Gomes igomes@cansa.org.za
KZN
Durban (services KZN) Farhara Goolamnabi fgoolamnabi@cansa.org.za
Limpopo
Waterberg Cisca Loggenberg cloggenberg@cansa.org.za
Mpumalanga
Lowveld Thembi Ngwenya adminnelspruit@cansa.org.za
North West
Rustenburg Goitsemang Babedi gbabedi@cansa.org.za
Northern Cape
Kimberley Dorothy du Plooy dduplooy@cansa.org.za
Springbok Geraldine Farmer gfarmer@cansa.org.za
Upington Geraldine Farmer gfarmer@cansa.org.za
Southern Cape
George (services Klein Karoo) Sharon Venter sventer@cansa.org.za
Western Cape
Cape Metro Dorothy du Plooy dduplooy@cansa.org.za
Overberg Gretchen Minnaar gminnaar@cansa.org.za
Paarl (services Boland) Gretchen Minnaar gminnaar@cansa.org.za
West Coast Tanya Johnson tjohnson@cansa.org.za

Upon request wigs made from human hair may be ordered from CANSA’s Head Office if there is no regional stock available at the time.

Requests for human hair wigs from Head Office, including special requests, may be directed to Athena Neate aneate@cansa.org.za 

How Can I Donate My Ponytail to CANSA?

Read more…

Headwear

CompassionHat

Compassionhat provides quality headwear for people suffering hair loss or who have sensitive scalps due to side effects of cancer treatment and products have received the CANSA Seal of Recognition in the Patient Care category.

The hats are designed to uniquely fit a head with little to no hair, and are designed to cover the entire natural hairline to make hair loss less obvious. They also trap hair inside for easy collection of hair that has fallen out.

Many different colours and designs are available and products are available for women, men and children.

*Find more information on hats that provide protection from the sun and have been approved as CANSA Seal of Recognition partners in the Protection category, as Compassionhat will not meet these requirements.

Orders and Queries

Order Compassionhat products from your local CANSA Care Centre.

Should your Care Centre be out of stock, or if you require a different style Compassionhat, please email Sandra Blignaut sblignaut@cansa.org.za 

Support Resources for cancer Survivors & Loved Ones

Find additional online resources for cancer Survivors (anyone who has heard the words ‘you have cancer’) or loved ones, and about coping with cancer.

Do you have a question?
Ask CANSA
Book a counselling session

CANSA Tele Counselling

 0800 22 6622 Toll Free
 072 197 9305 English and Afrikaans (text only)
 071 867 3530 Xhosa, Zulu, Sotho and Siswati (text only)

 

  Find Your Care Centre

About Us | Get in Touch

1931 - 2021. 90 Year Anniversary

Sign up to receive news and updates: